Tuesday, April 12, 2011

Last time Dale Earnhardt Jr. won a race

I did a piece similar to this with Bobby Labonte last year.  Now that Dale Earnhardt’s winless streak has hit 100 races, it appeared to be the right time to see what has changed since he last won at Michigan in the summer of 2008.

-Denny Hamlin had only four career Sprint Cup wins.

-Jimmie Johnson was a two time defending champion.

-Tony Stewart was driving a Toyota.  This was the only year in Stewart's 13 year Cup career he didn't drive for GM.

-George W. Bush was President.  In other words, Junior hasn’t won since Obama has been in the Oval Office.

-Joey Logano became the youngest winner in NASCAR history the night before, winning the Nationwide race at Kentucky.  Logano turned 18 just three weeks earlier.

-Surprisingly, the price of gas was more than it is now.  In June 2008, the average national gas price was over four dollars a gallon.
-Kyle Busch had 15 wins in the Nationwide Series - he has scored 31 more since as he closes in on Mark Martin's record of 49.

Some of these facts make it seem like a long time ago whereas others make it not seem so bad.  Either way, these next two races at Talladega and Richmond are Earnhardt's best chance to end the drought.

No comments:

Post a Comment